What do you learn in “HUMAN RIGHTS 301″ ?

Posted .

Third level(continuing session)


1. Civil and Criminal Procedures

 

Procedure is the step to be taken in order to bring a matter to justice, try until reaching a court decision and its fulfilment. It is therefore important for participants to understand procedures, to be able to make difference between civil and criminal cases. They therefore understand the legal jargon and able to identify and document human rights violations cases committed in courts.

 

2. Democracy  and citizenship

 

Democracy in a country needs:

  • A democratic society ( social fabric)
  • A democratic  political system (state)
  • Democratic institutions (school, family, church)
  • Democratic citizens

Government work must reflect the will of the people. A democratic society is a society open to change due to citizen’s participation. There is no Democracy without solidarity, without equality, without freedom because democracy assumes a democratic culture, democratic practices, a good democratic mentality within all groups and classes.

 

 

There must be a certain harmony between civil society (church, trade union, school, family) and political society (military, police, courts, prisons) that is to say, harmony between persuasive and repressive force.

 

 

Haiti has known dictatorship since independence, because the Haitian state has always been characterized by militarism, despotism, patrimonialism, injustice, inequality, corruption and exclusion. Government structure must be changed because as long as it does not change, there won’t be democracy.

 

In addition, participants will understand why they are agents of social transformation before being monitors of human rights

 

3. Economic, social and Cultural Rights and SAP2

 

Because of non – compliance with economic, social and cultural rights, Haitian Democracy is incomplete; it is a political democracy and not an economic democracy. Ex: The vote is equal but the voters are unequal. The structural adjustment program (SAP) is a tool of death. It’s the national economy inclusion in the global economy for the benefit of transnational corporations. It is characterized by liberalization of financial markets and trade, privatization of public enterprises, reduction of payroll expenses through massive dismissal of civil servant, a new fiscal policy etc.. The consequences are: devaluation of gourd, foreign products flooding the market, tax increase for citizens and tax decrease for companies, reduction in number of state employees to 50%, ` increase in unemployment rate. The UN acknowledges that SAP is a violation of economic, social and cultural rights. A Democratic Republic, which wishes to raise the population to a level of citizen, should enable them to have access to basic services. These are duties of a real democratic state to materialize access to economic, social and cultural.

 

At this level, it becomes clear to participants that human rights are indivisible, they are complementary. When we talk about human rights, we must not see only civil and political rights but equally economic, social and cultural rights.

 

4. Human rights and monitoring

 

 

A human rights violation case investigation / documentation must take into consideration the victim, the perpetrator, place, date, potential witnesses and evidence (medical certificate, report, legal document) etc.. Information must be verified and analyzed. Violations must be clearly defined in relation to legal texts, such as: the Constitution, the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, and other instruments ratified by Haitian State.

 

 

 

 

The report is a summary, a narrative document, an investigation report written after assessing and studying information. Here is how it is presented:

 

–         Recipient (A)

–         Sender  (De)

–         Subject

–         Date

–         Introduction

–         Facts and remarks

–         Recommandations

–         Signature

 

This topic is the main tool which participants use in terms of documentation for violation cases committed by police officers, prison offices, judges, etc… They learn court referral mechanism as well.

 

5.       Workshop

 

Participants are divided into various groups they work on specific (assumptions) and later meet in plenary sessions to present their works and answer questions from other groups. At the end, an officer from RNDDH does summary of presentations.

Qu’ apprendrons-nous des DROITS HUMAINS 301?

Posted .

RNDDH – Troisième niveau (Session continue):

1.       Les Procédures Pénales et Civiles

 

La procédure est la marche à suivre pour porter une affaire en justice, la juger jusqu’à  l’obtention d’une décision judiciaire et son exécution. Il s` avère donc impérieux pour les participants de maîtriser les procédures, d’arriver à faire avec aisance la différence entre les affaires civiles et les affaires pénales. Ainsi, ils comprennent les jargons juridiques et  sont aptes à identifier et documenter les cas de violation de droits humains commis au niveau des tribunaux.

 

2.       La  Démocratie  et  la  Citoyenneté

 

Pour qu’il y ait Démocratie dans un pays, il faut:

  • ·Une société  démocratique  (le corps social)
  • ·Un système politique démocratique ( l’état )
  • ·Des  institutions  démocratiques (école, famille, église)
  • ·Des citoyens démocrates

 

Le travail du gouvernement doit être l’expression de la volonté des gouvernés. Une  société démocratique, c’est une société ouverte au changement grâce à la participation  des citoyens. Il n’y a pas de Démocratie sans solidarité, sans égalité, sans liberté car la  Démocratie suppose une culture démocratique, une pratique démocratique, une pensée  dominante démocratique qui doit traverser tous les groupes et les classes.

 

Il faut une certaine harmonie entre la société civile (église, syndicat, école, famille) et la  société politique (armée,  police,  tribunaux,  prisons) c’est-à-dire harmonie entre la  force persuasive et la force répressive.

 

En Haïti, on n’a connu que la dictature depuis l’indépendance, car l’état Haïtien a  toujours été caractérisé par le militarisme, le despotisme, le patrimonialisme, l’injustice, l’inégalité, la corruption et l’exclusion. Il faut changer la structure de cet État car tant qu’elle ne change pas,  point de Démocratie.

 

Aussi, les participants comprennent pourquoi ils sont des agents de transformation sociale avant d’être moniteurs de droits humains,

 

3.       Les Droits Sociaux Économiques et Culturels et le PAS        

 

A cause du non – respect des droits sociaux économiques et culturels, la Démocratie  haïtienne est incomplète, c’est une démocratie politique et non économique. Ex: Le vote  est égal mais les votants sont  inégaux. Le plan d’ajustement structurel (PAS) est un outil de la mort. C’est la rentrée de l’économie nationale dans l’économie mondiale au  bénéfice des entreprises transnationales. Il est caractérisé par: la libéralisation du marché  financier et du commerce, la privatisation des entreprises publiques, la réduction de la masse salariale par la révocation massive de fonctionnaire de l’état, une nouvelle politique fiscale etc. Ses conséquences sont: la dévaluation de la gourde, l` envahissement du marché par les produits étrangers, l` augmentation des taxes  payées  par la population et la baisse de celles payées par les entreprises, la réduction de 50%  des employés de l’état, l` augmentation du taux de chômage. L’ONU même reconnaît que le PAS est une violation des droits sociaux, économiques et culturels. Une République Démocratique, qui veut élever sa population à un niveau de citoyen, doit leur permettre  d’avoir accès aux services de base. Ce sont là les devoirs d’un État véritablement démocratique de matérialiser l` accessibilité ainsi à la jouissance des droits sociaux, économiques et  culturels.

 

A ce niveau, il devient clair pour les participants que les droits humains sont indivisibles, ils sont complémentaires. Quand on parle de droits humains,  il ne faut pas voir seulement les droits civils et politiques mais également les droits économiques sociaux et culturels.

 

4.       Les  droits  humains  et  le  monitoring

 

L` investigation / la documentation d` un cas de violation de droits humains doit tenir compte de la victime, de l’agresseur, du lieu, de la date du fait, des témoins éventuels et des preuves (certificat médical, procès verbal, document  judiciaire) etc. Les informations doivent être vérifiées et analysées. Les violations doivent être  clairement définies par rapport aux textes légaux, tels que: La Constitution, la Déclaration Universelle des Droits de l’Homme, et  les autres instruments ratifiés par l’Etat Haïtien.

 

Le rapport est un résumé, un document narratif, un résultat d’enquête rédigé après  vérification  et  une analyse  des informations recueillies. Il  se  présente  comme  suit:

 

–         Destinataire (A)

–         Destinateur  (De)

–         Objet

–         Date

–         Introduction

–         Les  faits  et  commentaires

–         Les recommandations

–         Signature

 

Ce thème constitue le principal outil dont se servent les participants dans le cadre de la documentation des cas de violations commis par les policiers, les agents pénitentiaires, les juges, etc… Ils apprennent également les mécanismes de saisines.

 

5.       Atelier de travail

 

Les participants, divisés en plusieurs groupes, travaillent sur des cas spécifiques (hypothèses) et ils se réunissent ensuite en séance plénière pour présenter leur travail et répondre aux questions des autres groupes. Enfin, un responsable du RNDDH fait la synthèse des présentations.